Ghana name squad to face SA and São Tomé in Afcon qualifiers

ACCRA – Ghana have named a 23-man Black Stars squad for the two Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Bafana Bafana and São Tomé e Principe.

The first match is against South Africa on Thursday, 14 November, at the Cape Coast Sports Stadium. The next match against 
São Tomé e Principe will be on Monday, 18 November, in the capital Sao Tome.

Black Stars coach Kwesi Appiah has handed call ups to a number of players including former Hearts of Oak forward Torric Jibril, Spain based duo Iddrisu Baba and Mohammed Salisu, as well as German based Christopher Antwi Adjei.

Captain Andre Ayew, Mubarak Wakaso, Jordan Ayew, Richard Ofori, Felix Annan and Andy Yiadom, who were all in the Black Stars squad that featured in the last Afcon tournament in Egypt, have all been named along with Harrison Afful also making a return to the national team. 

Ghana’s squad, goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg FC, South Africa), Felix Annan (Asante Kotoko, Ghana), Razak Abalora (Azam FC, Tanzania)

Defenders: Andy Yiadom (Reading, England), Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA), Lumor Agbenyenu (Real Mallorca, Spain), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo, Spain), Kassim Nuhu (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany), Nicholas Opoku (Udinese, Italy), Mohammed Salisu (Real Valladolid, Spain)

Midfielders: Samuel Owusu (Al Fahya, Saudi Arabia), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Alfred Duncan (Sassuolo, Italy), Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Iddrisu Baba (Real Mallorca, Spain), Christopher Antwi-Adjei (SC Paderborn, Germany)

Forwards: Andre Ayew (Swansea, England), Mohammed Kudus (FC Nordsjaelland, Denmark), Emmanuel Boateng (Dalian Yifang, China), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Torric Jibril (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Shafiu Mumuni (Ashantigold) 

African News Agency (ANA)

B19GGFR16 - Ghana name squad to face SA and São Tomé in Afcon qualifiers

Leave a Reply