Read Eating Fire: Selected Poetry 1965-1995 by Margaret Atwood Free Online

Ebook Eating Fire: Selected Poetry 1965-1995 by Margaret Atwood read! Book Title: Eating Fire: Selected Poetry 1965-1995
The author of the book: Margaret Atwood
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 639 KB
Edition: Virago Press (UK)
Date of issue: January 1st 1998
ISBN: 1860495052
ISBN 13: 9781860495052

Read full description of the books Eating Fire: Selected Poetry 1965-1995:

Margaret Atwood's poetry was inserted (like the cutting of a plant) beneath my skin many years ago. Her poems took root in fertile soil and flourished.

Eating Fire, is actually three collections of poems; Poems 1965-1975, Poems 1976-1886 and Morning in the Burned House. I own all three independently, but this is the book, the collection, I drag around with me in my bag.

These are the poems I read when I feel dry, when I am not sure what a poet's voice sounds like, or what a poem looks like. It also doesn't hurt that Atwood is a kinswoman, a Canadian. When I have felt adrift, her poems have been my roots.

Consider the following excerpt.

Notes Towards A Poem That Can Never Be Written


This is the place
you would rather not know about,
this is the place that will inhabit you,
this is the place you cannot imagine,
this is the place that will finally defeat you

where the word why shrivels and empties
itself. This is famine.

There is no famine in this collection. There is much to love in this book, so I will limit myself to a couple of poems I love.

I *LOVE* Half Hanged Mary, and all the snake poems, but especially Psalm to a Snake. Oh and the above Notes Towards A Poem That Can Never Be Written... hmmm ... and Power Politics ... and, and, and ....

I am by no means an unbiased reviewer - more a passionate follower.

If you haven't .... do.

Read Ebooks by Margaret Atwood

Read information about the author

Ebook Eating Fire: Selected Poetry 1965-1995 read Online! Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa and grew up in northern Ontario, Quebec, and Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master's degree from Radcliffe College.

Throughout her writing career, Margaret Atwood has received numerous awards and honourary degrees. She is the author of more than thirty-five volumes of poetry, children’s literature, fiction, and non-fiction and is perhaps best known for her novels, which include The Edible Woman (1970), The Handmaid's Tale (1983), The Robber Bride (1994), Alias Grace (1996), and The Blind Assassin, which won the prestigious Booker Prize in 2000. Atwood's dystopic novel, Oryx and Crake, was published in 2003. The Tent (mini-fictions) and Moral Disorder (short stories) both appeared in 2006. Her most recent volume of poetry, The Door, was published in 2007. Her non-fiction book, Payback: Debt and the Shadow Side of Wealth ­ in the Massey series, appeared in 2008, and her most recent novel, The Year of the Flood, in the autumn of 2009. Ms. Atwood's work has been published in more than forty languages, including Farsi, Japanese, Turkish, Finnish, Korean, Icelandic and Estonian. In 2004 she co-invented the Long Pen TM.

Margaret Atwood currently lives in Toronto with writer Graeme Gibson.

Associations: Margaret Atwood was President of the Writers' Union of Canada from May 1981 to May 1982, and was President of International P.E.N., Canadian Centre (English Speaking) from 1984-1986. She and Graeme Gibson are the Joint Honourary Presidents of the Rare Bird Society within BirdLife International. Ms. Atwood is also a current Vice-President of PEN International.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to Eating Fire: Selected Poetry 1965-1995

Read EBOOK Eating Fire: Selected Poetry 1965-1995 by Margaret Atwood Online free

Download PDF: eating-fire-selected-poetry-1965-1995.pdf Eating Fire: Selected Poetry 1965-1995 PDF